RSS

New Albion Merchandising: Your Opinions

11 Aug

Soon we here at the New Albion council will be tearing down our Papaver cigarette sweatshops and replacing them with New Albion merchandising swe…. happy workfun factories. Yes, there will be New Albion merchandising coming. In order to actually do this i need to ask several questions of you all.

Firstly, i need to know what kind of.. items you would actually want to purchse. T Shirts? Phone cases? Laptop stickers? Mugs? I have made this handy, dandy poll right here for you fine folks to fill out and let me know:

Now, onto artwork.

My idea is to offer artwork of New Albion at the different eras. Steampunk era, Dieselpunk era and Atompunk era. I have examples here. There is one example missing and that is a piece of art (as yet unmade) with the words “Vote Voodoopunk We Dance With You On Your Grave”. The great Sarah De Buck is working on this, so we don’t have it yet, but rather than wait, i’m just going to throw what i have out there.

Note how each image has a name. NAS1 for New Albion Steampunk 1 and so on. This will help you vote.

New Albion Steampunk Era

New Albion Steampunk Era

NAS1

New Albion Steampunk Era

NAS2

New Albion Steampunk Era

NAS3

New Albion Steampunk Era

NAS4

 

New Albion Dieselpunk Era

 

New Albion Dieselpunk Era

NAD1

New Albion Dieselpunk Era

NAD2

New Albion Atompunk Era

(Obviously we will get rid of the album cover text, but it’ll be this image because this image is awesome)

New Albion Atompunk Era

NAA1

New Albion Atompunk Era

NAA2

 

And of course the Voodoopunk image. Which could be of Jasper. This is not yet known, just know we’re working on it. And by “we” i mean Sarah.

I’m trying to make this as easy as possible for you to let me know what kind of thing you want and which image you like. I will likely offer more than one image, maybe one of each era… look, i’m trying to get a feel for what direction to go. Obviously making things with art that no one wants is not just a waste of time, it throws money i don’t necessarily have down the drain. So, feel free to leave comments also. The more i know, the more i can make exactly the sort of thing you want. Other than the sweet sung torment of characters. I know you want this, but that i can’t put it on a t-shirt. Yet.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “New Albion Merchandising: Your Opinions

  1. Chance

    August 11, 2017 at 2:51 pm

    Besides more signed copies of your dirty underwear, I would be interested in some Miss Helen’s Weird West Cabaret and Uncle Raven’s Super Happy Fun Time Carnival memorabilia. I just figured these were extensions of the New Albion series, and deserve a small coffee cup or T-shirt or something. Now about the underwear….

     
  2. J

    August 11, 2017 at 2:55 pm

    I really like the background design of NAS3, but prefer the logo placement of NAS1 (since it blocks less of the design). Would definitely love something from each era though! I would absolutely adore having a series of three matching posters from the three eras (and if this all goes well, it would be great to see some Fallen and Lost Hallow/Carnival stuff, and maybe Slenderman as well). I could also totally see one of them being done up like a promo travel poster… “Visit beautiful New Albion! … come ride in the crossroads, come do it today!”

    And it’s funny you mention “Vote Voodoopunk we dance with you on your grave”… I’m living in the US, and during the 2016 election I was *really* thinking about getting a custom shirt or bumper sticker made with just that line on it. Honestly, I think Jasper might have been the best choice…

    But in any case, I’m really excited for this. The one custom New Albion shirt I have (“Tune in to the New Albion Radio Hour, with Llyod Allen”, plus some appropriate images and a list of broadcasting times) is actually starting to fade a bit and I was going to need to get a new one. But if there’s going to be something official, I’m definitely on board with that!

    Speaking of merch in general: Once the Lost Hallow trilogy is done, is there some chance of seeing a CD release of that? I love having the New Albion trilogy on CD, and would really like to continue with that collection.

    I’d also be interested in vinyl if there’s some way for that to be viable at your scale (and it might be depending on fan interest… I think there’s actually a decent number of short-run vinyl pressing companies out there)… the main trick there is that, judging by act and album lengths, all your records would need to be double or triple LPs, and things like the SO and DO wouldn’t be able to break cleanly between sides at the breaks between acts. But yeah, if there’s any chance of such a release of any of your music, know that I, for one, would be buying it day one. 🙂

     
  3. Vadvivon

    August 11, 2017 at 3:49 pm

    I’d love if you made sweatshirts and/or jackets. It can get a bit cold here and I’d definitely wear those around. AND it’d be great if there was some merch of both of the lost hollow acts as well !!

     
  4. Curima

    August 11, 2017 at 4:23 pm

    Wow, that’s good news, I’d love to show my love for new Albion with T-Shirts and Posters! 🙂 Do you know already which platform you will use?

     
  5. Ben Kilgore

    August 11, 2017 at 10:42 pm

    I was literally just thinking about how much I wish New Albion merchandise existed!
    I’d love to see a t-shirt with the album art for Uncle Raven’s Super Happy Funtime Carnival.

     
  6. CatBot

    August 11, 2017 at 11:00 pm

    I think NAS 2,4 and NAD 1 would make a good t-shirt print, due to its non-rectangular shape, while the rest would make a better sticker/mug print/etc

     
  7. Clef Von Danger

    August 12, 2017 at 3:08 am

    Raven is another masterpiece, and I’m really enjoying the prose material on the blog! Would you ever consider developing some kind of tabletop game set in this world?

    Seriously, it’s, without hyperbole, my favourite fictional world so far. New Albion’s a character in itself and it’s beautiful.

     
  8. Gabriella

    August 12, 2017 at 6:14 pm

    So other than the Papaver Cigarettes and the mock-ups and whatnot, I know this is super ultra specialized, but New Albion cochlear implant cases would be so cool

     
  9. Alexis

    August 14, 2017 at 7:13 am

    For Steampunk era, I definitely enjoy the more faded NAS3 with the sun behind. However, NAS4 feels like it would work better on a tshirt or mug. NAS3 would work well as a poster! Also Vote Voodoopunks is totally what I want, ESPECIALLY on a tshirt!!!! 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
