RSS

The Mix Is Done. (Probably. I think. I hope. I wish.)

05 Jul

So today around 1pm i made the final mix. I sent off the advance copies, and then on a walk with my 2 year old realized i hadn’t made the right mixing choices on the Floozy vocals (which i was up late last night plugging in and fooling with) so i came home and remixed them and NOW i believe i’m done. As soon as i finish writing this i’m going to open a beer, kick back and listen the thing and pray my note sheet remains blank.

In the making of an album, from the time a few songs have been made, a list begins and on that list are notes. Whenever i listen to what i’ve got so far i make notes on what is not good. At a certain point in the process that list is very, very long, but by the time we’re in the end stages the list is much shorter and very detailed with tiny little nitty gritty things. A hi hat volume during a section, vocal mix details like too much reverb or slightly down during a section. The bass in the piano is adding too much mud to the actual bass.

And then one day, the sheet is blank. And then the album is done.

A warning sign that you should wrapping things up is when, in the later stages, you make a note to change something that you had been fine with for a long time. You change it, you realize you just made it worse, so you now have to go and change it back. This happens every project and is a red light that you need to stop fussing and just get the thing finished.

I highly suggest ignoring the crippling self doubt that arises at the end. When now it’s basically finished and you wonder what the fuck you just did. I mean, come on, normal bands released awesome music with cool tunes and awesome vocals and here you are making… freaking musical…. like… musical story album with… theatrical character vocal… things that… who the fuck listens to? Most people are going to hear this sort of thing and just think “what the fuck is this bullshit” and of COURSE they will because what the fuck IS this bullshit?

Shh.

Shhhh.

Shhhhhh.

You have made the decisions that made this project and you felt them with great conviction as you made them. Stand by them. Do YOU like it? You do. You know you do. You did your best. If it’s weird… do not apologize for letting your freak flag fly.

And so we come to the end of another album making spurt of madness. My beer is right here asking if i’m going to open it any time soon, turn off the lights and listen to the damn thing.  Well i am. Right about now. And for those interested, soon you shall to.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “The Mix Is Done. (Probably. I think. I hope. I wish.)

  1. Allison Rassmann

    July 5, 2017 at 8:49 pm

    Ah, that old sucky feeling. Beautifully put, though. And shockingly, many of us are ecstatic about this musical story album bullshit and would even consider it awesome music with cool tunes and awesome vocals.

    I hope that in the weeks to come you can relax and enjoy. May your note sheet be empty and your heart be full.

     
  2. Dudley

    July 5, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    The curse of the creative; always finding something wrong or chasing perfection. A true master of their craft doesn’t finish when the project is perfect but when the project is ready.

     
  3. Vadvivon

    July 5, 2017 at 10:44 pm

    AUGH not that feeling. I get too nit picky with things sometimes it can just ruin the whole thing.
    Lets hope your notes can remain blank tonightt and that you’ll be satisfied with how it all sounds in the end !!

     
  4. Dave Creek

    July 6, 2017 at 2:36 pm

    I’m trying to unsubscribe from these posts. Going to “manage subscriptions” simply sends me to a page where it wants me to provide my email address for instructions on doing that. I’ve done that, and I never receive those instructions. Digging deeper and going to WordPress takes me to a page where A Steampunk Opera isn’t mentioned, and WordPress apparently isn’t interested in feedback because they provide no email link.

    Thank you for your help in this matter.

    Dave Creek

     
    • paulms

      July 6, 2017 at 8:16 pm

      I wish i could help you, but i don’t really know the ins and outs of wordpress much better than you. I pretty much write a blog, hit post and then it goes up. I’ve never subscribed to a wordpress blog, so i don’t honestly know how to unsubscribe either. I’m looking around on my end to see if i can unsubscribe you myself, but i haven’t found anything yet.

       
    • Jay

      July 7, 2017 at 12:49 am

      It probably depends on how you subscribed. If you subscribed my email, there should be an unsubscribe link. If you’re using an app or web browser to subscribe via RSS, there should be a way to remove the subscription. If you’re using a web service such as Feedly, that service should provide an unsubscribe method.

      Regardless, because of the way most blog subscriptions work, it is unlikely that you would be able to unsubscribe from this page itself (and Paul is also likely unable to remove you from a list; I doubt that there’s even a list of subscribers that he would be able to see).

       

Leave a Reply

 
