RSS

Carnival Album Update

16 May

Wow, i am… oddly… WAY ahead of schedule.

As you all know by now, one of my closest, dearest friends in the world hung himself 2 months ago. I flew back after the funeral, went downstairs to my studio, pulled up the Carnival track i had been working on before i got the news, deleted it and began again from scratch. And then… weeks passed. A couple months i think. And the next time i looked up to take stock of what was going on i was… well hell, i had made almost the entire thing. I’m like, a song away from the end.

There’s was bunches of other stuff i’ve been supposed to do, but i’ve ignored it all. All i do is either work on this project or play with my children. There is little else. Those are the only things i give a fuck about. (Obviously my wife too. But since we live out in the boondocks work is a tag team operation. If i am with the kids, she’s working. If she’s with the kids, i’m working.)

This album is…. uhm….  I am making an album that a dead man would like. A dead man who will never hear it. Yet i am making it specifically for him to listen to. Which makes no sense. It is still the 2nd act to Lost Hallow, i am keeping true to the story and the characters, it’s just… i do whatever the fuck i want with the songs. I don’t give a shit if they’re concise. I have music flowing out of me that i can’t contain so i just make whatever instrumental sections i want. Whatever moods strike me. The old style. The shit that Shaun liked.

Hell, Shaun was the one who named Raven. Raven dates back a long time and we had numerous discussions about him when we did the Fallen (and again when we planned to redo The Fallen). I was so excited when he figured out i was pulling Raven back out and excited for him to hear what i had done with him.

I was Morty when i sat down to make this and now i am Rick.

I am however… shit, i’m months ahead of schedule. I mean, i can always spend time editing and fixing stuff up. And it needs a lot of that, no doubt. Even so… i hadn’t expected to be this far along. I need to get my butt in gear to arrange things, like singers and the guitarist i found to do the two solos. (Yes, guitar solos. Because fuck you. I do not give a fuck. I can feel them. I want them. They will be.)

Look, i give everything i have on each and every album i make. Whether you enjoy it or not, i do give everything on every one. It just comes down to what i have to give at that particular time. And this time i…. have a lot.

Thank you to everyone who has sent in auditions. I have a male vocalist, Alex McNamara.  I still do not have the female vocalist, but with Lauren’s help i think i’m zeroing in.

So there. I just have to make the last track, which is really barely even a real song, since the song before that is where the neat end of act stuff happens.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Carnival Album Update

  1. Chance

    May 16, 2017 at 6:10 pm

    Woo hoo!!!!! Can’t wait!!!!!

     
  2. Vadvivon

    May 21, 2017 at 8:47 pm

    Oh wow that was fast, I was expecting to be waiting a while before you released it,
    Whenever you release it I am so going to buy it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
