RSS

Miss Helen’s Weird West Cabaret Out Now! (Also, Let’s Speak About The Future)

08 Dec

Once again, the Weird West Cabaret is out now. Take a listen. If you like it buy it. Buy it as a Xmas gift for your friends. Buy it and send it to your frenemies. Buy it send it to random people . Leave it in peoples’ mailboxes. Just send the composer envelopes full of cash. Many options await you.

Available here!

Miss Helen's Weird West Cabaret

Okay my little sweets. Let’s talk. First of all i thank each and every one of you once again. There is a mountainous response to this album and i weep with joy and relief. Every time you share it online, post about it, blog about it, an angel visits you in the night and gives you a backrub. Platonic, yes, but i mean a REALLY good massage.

Seriously, i am indebted to you.

Now, let us talk of the next one. Much like this one, after a make an announcement about the next one there is very little i can or will say about for the next X many months until it is released. I despise spoilers. I will take a short break, and really, in that time the big thing i must do is figure out how to plot the next one. I know how it begins, how it ends and some nice moments in the middle there, but there’s a whole lot i need to work out structure wise.

The Cabaret was actually quite difficult to plot out. The plot is.. simple in a sense, but how to get from point A to point Z smoothly was a real conundrum. The next one too is tough in different ways. I don’t have the character background songs to fall back on. (I LOVE character background songs. That was the thing that attracted me to the cabaret  idea, i could split the plot between a long form plot and short song by song plots.) A cabaret is nice and easy to frame. The performance will begin, everyone has a reason to be singing, even a reason to be singing odd, dialoguey stuff, and at the end of the album the performance will end. SO nice and neat.

Moving forward, as with any second act, things get more complicated. They cannot be quite as… well bookended. More stuff gets brought into play. I wish to avoid the Atompunk opera’s one sore spot of being a bit tough to follow. But things must get a little more complicated. There’s some weird shit going on.

I must also introduce 2 more characters. One of whom… oh god you do not know the pleasure it will be to write. OH i cannot wait to write shit for this one character. I squeal with delight. Literally. Squeal. I’m doing it now. You just can’t hear me.

I cannot tell you anything more. I am sorry. I can tell you the working title of the next Act, but that’s it. A long time will pass while i write and record this. It took about 7 months to make the Cabaret. Expect the same. At least. I will not rush. Never again.

But in about 7 months or so will come Act 2 of The Ballad Of Lost Hollow, whose working title, which could TOTALLY change, EVERYTHING I KNOW ABOUT IT RIGHT NOW COULD TOTALLY CHANGE, but for now, just right now, the working title is Mr. Raven’s Super Big Tent Happy Funtime Carnival Show.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

11 responses to “Miss Helen’s Weird West Cabaret Out Now! (Also, Let’s Speak About The Future)

  1. JayKerschner

    December 8, 2016 at 8:44 pm

    RAVEN!

    You have no idea how excited I am to hear that, even if there’s a chance it’s not part of the final tie-in.

    Best of luck; hopefully the things you expect will be challenges now will end up falling into place with ease.

     
    • paulms

      December 8, 2016 at 8:52 pm

      No, it’s definitely THAT Raven and i’m getting pretty married to heading that direction.

       
  2. Henry Wilson

    December 8, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    I KNEW I heard Uncle Raven! I KNEW it! I am so pumped up for more information on his “world of living truth…” Lost hollow certainly seems to have some *colourful* people, no?
    –Henry Wilson

     
  3. Jordan Mooney

    December 9, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    Raven? Which musical is he from? Sorry there’s a few of your works I haven’t listened to yet XP

    But so far it sounds pretty good
    Laughed a few times, some pretty funny moments in it

    And that ending had me like “oooooohhhh shit” then I realized things are gonna get complex 😄

    Still, looking forward to the next act and excited to see who this new character is your squeezing over writing, they a new new character? Or someone fro a previous work?

    Hash tag bring lloyd back or something ~o~

     
    • JayKerschner

      December 9, 2016 at 6:34 pm

      He’s from “The Fallen”, which is definitely worth getting (it’s on Bandcamp like the other albums). It’s actually my favorite of Paul’s albums.

       
      • Vile

        December 10, 2016 at 8:48 am

        Aha, so everyone who is like “ahhh, I recognize that jingle at the end” and thinks it is related to New Albion is actually getting psyched out. Ha, it is actually following up on an album you have never heard of! Take that!

        Maybe it is a clever ploy to get us to buy his older (and presumably less popular) album! Clever, eh. Have to say, I am down. Any character named Uncle Raven w/ a voice like that is okay in my book.

         
      • JayKerschner

        December 11, 2016 at 6:08 pm

        @Ville: No, that voice at the end definitely isn’t the Raven (it’s too factual and nowhere near… err… flamboyant enough). That is a New Albion tie-in. That’s what makes this whole thing great… it’s linking the New Albion series with The Fallen.

         
  4. Juliet Elisabeth Rellis

    December 10, 2016 at 4:18 pm

    Dear Paul Shapera,
    I have wanted to work with you but I am sad to say this, but I still live in RVA in America and I thought that if you want I wanted one of your characters named after me. I would be extremely excited if I hear a red haired character’s name would be Juliet.

     
  5. paulms

    December 10, 2016 at 4:46 pm

    Let me just be clear, alrhough in general im into wild speculation: the voice at the end is absolutely, positively the AIs from New Albion. Raven is a character ftlm another work who is not only well worth picking up again, but works well in the mythos of what is happening. However, my intention is that Lost Hollow can absolutely be listened to without any knowledge of past works. You dont need to know the history of the AIs you dont need to know Raven’s other tale. If tou do, great, it will expand your understanding but it ishould not be necessary

     
  6. Zellenon

    December 21, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    OH MY GOD RAVEN IS BACK
    Ok, so let me get this straight. I’m assuming that this all takes place inside of a computer, and the characters are AIs like the ones from the end of Atompunk/Beneath New Albion and that the voice at the end was the fella in charge (Like Matrix). Does that make Raven a virus in the system? And for that matter, does that mean that the “omnipotent fascist” Raven mentioned (who we assumed was god) is actually Conner? Because he’s the one who created the Mascot 3000, and would thusly be to credit for the creation of digital consciousness.
    You know what? Fuck causality. Raven is Lloyd Allen. I’m calling it. I’m rolling my 2 favorite characters into one and expecting canon to respond in kind. Screw it.

     
    • paulms

      December 21, 2016 at 4:28 pm

      Nice theories! i enjoyed that. It does not take place inside a computer, obvious though that might seem.

       

Leave a Reply

 
