RSS

Let’s Talk About The Upcoming Box Set

16 Oct

Hi all.

Sorry i’ve been silent on the blog here lately, but that’s because i have been working like a monster on the Bonus Act. I mean BUSTIN’ ass. And the end is starting to appear in sight. I’m not quite there yet, but it’s getting close. I’ve probably only two more songs to compose and very soon i’ll start sending tracks off to Lauren to record.

Which means we need to start discussing the physical box set.

I cannot give a specific date at this point, but late November, early December. Perfect for Christmas presents!

I am pricing the package as we speak. It is a 7 CD set. Each opera takes 2 CDs and the bonus act, a full length album in its own right, takes a CD. So, 7 CDs.

I’m trying to keep the price nice and friendly but make sure the set is reeeeeal perty and special.

After i get the pricing worked out i’ll announce and here’s where it’s important: i will take pre-orders. In fact, i HAVE to take pre orders. As a lowly musician i cannot possibly afford to have a whole bunch of box sets made without pre-orders. I’ll have a couple extra made for any last minute purchases, but in general, if you want one you have GOT to pre-order.

I’ll announce when it’s time.

Also, i’ll say once again: if you already have the operas digitally, do not want the entire CD box set but DO want the Bonus Act (which is likely to be titled The Room Beneath New Albion) the album WILL be available online on Bandcamp and iTunes and Amazon, etc. You will NOT need to buy the box set just to have it.

So, keep tuned for more info. I’ll be picking up blog writing here so this site will be active again.

Now if you’ll pardon me, i have to finish writing Lauren’s big near end of album aria. I mean let’s be honest, we all know near the end of every piece Lauren will sing a big song, and this is her giant wailing epic for the new album. It’s a cross between the band Low and Total Eclipse Of The Heart. Which admittedly, is either utterly dumb or utterly awesome. I’m going for awesome.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Let’s Talk About The Upcoming Box Set

  1. juliet fugman

    October 16, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    Wow, I have to admit that this CD collection pulls all of the incredible songs you made will definitely warm the hearts of Steampunk fans that have a love in the arts, like I do.

     
  2. among_many

    October 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    With each opera taking two discs, I guess the DO Act 2 will be split in the middle. Not that I mind.

    Anyways, yes yes yes YES! A Christmas present from Paul Shapera to his listeners. What a journey is has been…2.5 years following your blog and works.

     
    • J

      October 17, 2014 at 1:21 am

      There’s a pretty big change of tone and setting from “The Bust” to “Underground”, so it’s a pretty easy split. However, it would be possible to fit acts 1 and 2 together on a standard-length CD.

       
    • J

      October 18, 2014 at 8:05 pm

      As I mention below, acts 1 and 2 can easily fit on a single disc. Plus, if the box set is going to include “New Albion 7”, that could easily then be placed on DO disc 2 so that it is more than just act 3. Regardless, splitting it in the middle works well enough because of the change of setting and theme from “The Bust” to “Underground”.

       
  3. J

    October 17, 2014 at 1:23 am

    I’m incredibly excited! Since I found out about New Albion I’ve hardly been able to listen to anything else, and I love having actual physical copies of my music. I’ll be pre-ordering as soon as it is available. I’m really interested to hear what this bonus act is about. Any chance of having the album title spoiled or anything like that? 🙂

     
    • Wubbledaddy

      October 17, 2014 at 1:58 am

      It’s called “The Room Beneath New Albion”

       
      • J

        October 17, 2014 at 3:06 am

        Whelp, I can’t read. Guess I just kind of glossed over that bit since the rest of the paragraph was talking about availability outside of the box set.

        An intriguing name. Could be about any number of the ideas Paul’s mentioned (the red-haired lad, Amber, the future of the AIs from Atompunk), or perhaps something completely different. Now I’m wondering where Lloyd Allen and the Dieselpunk Orchestra were broadcasting from…

         
  4. Amelia

    October 17, 2014 at 3:56 am

    Oh man I need to catch up. I was so excited for the third but never finished the first set of songs you released like a chump. So excited for a physical box set.

     
  5. absolutionjailor

    October 18, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    To be fair, Jim Steinman was a genius who realized that power ballads + ramping choral backing with epic/heroic themes was a solid recipe for greatness (Nowhere Fast, Anything For Love, Holding Out For A Hero). When combined with your track record of perfect final acts, I count the days like a seawife on the widow’s peak. Only with more hope and external genitals.

    Though I would pay greatly for this box set, I appreciate you trying to manage costs. It will determine how many extras I can justify gifting.

     
    • absolutionjailor

      October 18, 2014 at 1:06 pm

      Parting thought: I was unfortunately unavailable when you were taking requests for tracks to add to the instrumental album. Is it too late to ask for The Rescue Plan?

      Secondary related thought: I wasn’t aware of how many instruments can be found in some of these tracks. I’m usually too captivated by the power in the vocals to pick up all of the little strings and dings just beneath the surface that complete the experience.

       
      • J

        October 18, 2014 at 3:50 pm

        I believe for the instrumental tracks Paul was focusing on the songs that had one main singer and a fairly consistent structure over the course of the song, so “The Rescue Plan” would not meet those requirements. Though it would be cool if we could get more instrumentals (the whole trilogy+bonus, even). As you said, you can hear things in them that you don’t notice in the standard versions, so listening to the instrumentals actually makes the standard versions sound even better.

         
  6. Arkhaic

    October 29, 2014 at 3:31 am

    I think I might have missed it, when will the boxed set be available for preorder? I need to put it on my List.

     

Leave a Reply

 
