RSS

Slenderman, A Dark Opera

14 Jul

Slenderman, A Dark Opera

So i was washing dishes this afternoon and had this thought….

Instead of starting on another epic series (quite yet) what if my next “opera” was a one shot, a dark Slenderman Opera.

I know it’s… but hear me out. I though it was ridiculous too, i thought it was a funny idea, but since then i’ve spent a whole bunch of the afternoon walking around in a daze more and more considering it more and more seriously. A dark, messed up opera around the Slenderman meme. And i don’t mean some cheeky, ironic, wink wink, chuckle take on it. I mean a completely serious dark opera meant to mess with your head and blow your friggin’ mind. It would mean coming up with some really weird shit, no problem, some really tragic situations, no problem, some heart wrenching human angle, no problem, and some really out there fucked up, disturbing twists and turns…. no PROBlem.

Musically… hmmmmm……. obviously it would have a lot of horror elements (but alas, for those of you would have been asking for me to do a prog metal piece…. metal isn’t really my thing. I have nothing but respect for the genre and the EXCELLENT musicians who make it, but it’s not my thing, so no, this wouldn’t be a metal opera)… it would be a new challenge. I just listened to the 2012 London Sweeney Todd Cast album last night, undoubtedly why this idea struck me today, so think of it as my Sweeney Todd project.

I’m just saying… i’m not serious about this… i just… it’s just something i thought of washing dishes… but…. i’m kind of REALLY intrigued. Like, REALLY intrigued. I’m starting to very seriously consider this idea. Not even starting, despite myself i find myself… well, REALLY considering the idea.

Oh yeah, and 2nd Act of Atompunk almost here! WHoo!

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Slenderman, A Dark Opera

  1. Moira Darke

    July 14, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    You know, I think you could really pull this off. I agree, no metal (please, please no metal…)

    The only reservation I could have about this is that your best work is often the grand, larger than life orchestra movements, whereas the fear of Slenderman is usually more subtle. That said, you can pull off creepy music like no one I’ve ever heard…

    So yeah, that’d be cool. Go for it.

     
  2. Sarah

    July 14, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    There is but one word I can say to this: Yes.

     
  3. maddirosex

    July 14, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    I usually lurk rather than reply on this blog, but I thought I should let you know I am utterly convinced you could do justice to Slenderman, and I for one am SUPER excited to hear it, even though horror isn’t exactly my genre.

    Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some Atompunk Act II to listen to…

     
  4. Ken Carpenter

    July 14, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    Guess I should probably go check out what this whole Slenderman thing is about.

     
  5. Ken Carpenter

    July 14, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    It appears to be copywritten but from what this says the holder may very well give you permission since this kind of work would probably fit his criteria. From wikipedia:

    Despite his folkloric qualities, the Slender Man is not in the public domain. Eric “Victor Surge” Knudsen registered a copyright on the name “Slender Man” in January 2010.[20] Several profit-making ventures involving the Slender Man have unequivocally acknowledged Knudsen as the creator of this fictional character, and several more have been legally blocked from distribution (including the Kickstarter-funded film) after legal complaints from Knudsen and other sources.[5] Though Knudsen himself has given his personal blessing to a number of Slender Man-related projects, it is complicated by the fact that, while he is the character’s creator, a third party holds the options to any adaptations into other media, including film and television. The identity of this option holder has not been made public.[5] Knudsen himself has argued that his enforcement of copyright has less to do with money than with artistic integrity: “I just want something amazing to come off it… something that’s scary and disturbing and kinda different. I would hate for something to come out and just be kinda conventional.”[

     
  6. Reggie Lutz

    July 14, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    Yes. Do it.

     
  7. Jasper

    July 14, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    Absolutely. YES. Love it. Stellar idea. There aren’t enough ways for me to say DO THIS. Can I please play slenderman when we stage it together, yes?

     
  8. Curima

    July 15, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Yes! Do it🙂 Sounds great to me!

     
  9. James Gibson

    July 15, 2014 at 10:38 am

    This is a fantastic idea.

    ((Atompunk spoilers))

    Since I’ve never been as creeped out at a piece of music as when I listened to Ark 1, I think you’ll do it fantastically. (Admittedly, it was probably not the music, but still :P)

     

Leave a Reply

 
