RSS

Welcome To Act 1 Of An Atompunk Opera

09 Jul

It is wisest to promote the new release of the 1st Act of An Atompunk Opera another day, so i am doing so, but after the link we’ll talk a hair.

If you haven’t heard, the 1st Act of An Atompunk Opera, The New Albion Guide To Analogue Consciousness is here! Listen to it! Buy it! Keep me and the singers alive! Every Tuesday another act will be released.

Okay. Now that that’s out of the way, i hope you are enjoying the first act.  There are a few things i was very specifically attempting to do with it.

First of all, since this is the final piece of a trilogy, the 1st act is designed as a play on numerous parallels and inversions of parallels to A Steampunk Opera. Should you be noticing any of them (and there’s a list of parallels and inversions) i assure you, they’re all quite intentional. I do not do this with the other acts, only this one, but i really wanted to begin the Trilogy closing by riffing and inverting the Trilogy opener.

This opera differs from the first two in that the entire opera carries a much, much greater emphasis on an unfolding plot. I’m not saying there’s no plot unfolding in the other two, i’m just saying that was really a major, prime even, consideration in the AO from the get go. Thus the 1st Act only goes so far and likes to dangle a lot of threads. Oh, it’ll pay off, don’t you worry.

So welcome to the ride. We’ve got a LONG way to go and the next installment is lots of high energy, so thanks for trying out my ride, i promise, i spent a year making my entire life’s mission that by the time this opera is all over, you will have said “Holy fuck” a number of times. Well, the holy fucking is coming, so stay tuned and thank you all for caring and supporting this trilogy. I love you all. We will discuss the future a little later, but rest assured, it’s on its way.

The New Albion Guide To Analogue Consciousness, An Atompunk Opera Paul Shapera

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Welcome To Act 1 Of An Atompunk Opera

  1. Daniel

    July 9, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    I have a qustion to you Paul:
    I’m currently trying to write a steampunk-novel (not sure how it will work, but I will submit the idea to a publisher I already talked to), and since your operas were a great source of inspiration and still are, I used some minor things as kind of “eastereggs”.
    For example: There is a scene in the novel that takes place at an opera house, while “The Dolls of New Albion” is performed on stage. Or I named the trains “Criers” for using the “Criers Boulevard” as term for a trainstation like place.

    Up until now I never really thought about publishing it, only wrote for the fun. But at this point I want to ask you if you’d allow me to use some minor things like this in my novel.
    (Unfortunately, the novel will be in german at first. Should it be succelful enough, fingers crossed, it might get translated to english, but I’m not sure about that.)

    Of course I want to thank you (try to spread your work) in the novel, well on the few pages at the start, but I would do that regardless of you deciding to let me use those easter eggs or not, since, like I already said, the operas were a huge inspiration for me.

    Long story short, I guess we would have to settle it with a contract anyways (have to talk to the publisher about this if it works out), but if I’d already know, I could change things early should you not allow it.

    Oh, and I’m looking forward to a full version of the radio song from “Shopogopolis” in one of the upcoming acts. The tiny bit of song was amazing.

     
    • paulms

      July 9, 2014 at 4:06 pm

      If the things you use are like you say, clearly homage type usage, i am all for it. Actually, i’m honored. Easter egg references to my work are totally fine with me and you have my blessing.

       
      • Daniel

        July 9, 2014 at 4:34 pm

        Thanks, I’ll try to write words as good as you do music.

         
  2. alizarinacrimson

    July 9, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Paul,
    You have absolutely no idea how excited I was when you released this yesterday (almost as excited as I was for Sailor Moon Crystal’s release on Saturday).

    So far I like it :D

    I will be enthusiastically buying all three albums once you finish releasing the acts for AO (maybe you can do a fun CD release? ;D)

     
  3. damaen

    July 11, 2014 at 1:46 pm

    Alrighty, so I waited until I had uninterrupted time to listen to this. It’s a little nerve-wrecking when you love something and a new part comes out and you’re worried if you’ll love the next part. But, I have to say, you have yet to disappoint me! This was really really great, and I can’t wait to hear the whole thing! Lauren and Kayleigh’s voices are so amazing; and together, they’re a fantastic duo! Great job, Paul! *shakes your hand*

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

