RSS

Act 1 Of An Atompunk Opera Is Out Now!

08 Jul

Okay kids, here it is. Act 1 of An Atompunk Opera!

The remaining Acts (4 in total) will be released each Tues from here on in.

A few things:

1. Please bear with it. Think of this as a weekely series and this first episode is of course where we set up the pieces. A single act is only 20 something minutes and you may hate me when it suddenly ends. But i’m very curious to try out this format and curious what you think of it in the long run.

2. Don’t forget, your purchase will go straight to paying the singers, those delicious voices you hear who make the opera sound awesome and not like crap. They are literally what brings this thing to life. The poor dears need fed, BY ALL THAT’S HOLY PLEASE FEED THEM.

3. Posting links and tweets and talking about this online is how we have gotten here. It is THE reason there is now 3 of these instead of just 1. Thank you all for that. Please keep it up.

4. I love you all. I hope you enjoy.

The New Albion Guide To Analogue Consciousness, An Atompunk Opera Paul Shapera

 
17 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

17 responses to “Act 1 Of An Atompunk Opera Is Out Now!

  1. Daniel

    July 8, 2014 at 11:17 am

    Paul, what’s the status for a physical CD box set?

     
    • paulms

      July 8, 2014 at 7:03 pm

      I will make a physical box set. it will be after the entire Atompunk has been released and it will be preorder. After all 4 acts of the Atompunk have come out i will announce the box set and explain what they entail. HOWEVER, it will also entail an extra act that is not part of the 3 operas (and will probably take place in between the Dieselpunk and the Atompunk, but that’s not set in stone, i may go back to between steam and diesel) and as such i will have to actually write and make it, so there is NO WAY a box set will occur before mid fall.

       
      • Daniel

        July 8, 2014 at 10:18 pm

        Thanks.
        I’m pretty sure I’m going to purchase the box set, even if it takes decades, I know it will be worth it.

         
  2. Patrick Plonski

    July 8, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Awesome. Lauren’s voice is ridiculously gorgeous. Dig the crackly blips and bloops. Really dig the simple little throwback rockabilly tune for some reason “love you, love you, so far gone…”

     
    • paulms

      July 9, 2014 at 12:42 am

      Thanks. Glad you like the rockabilly. There’s more on the way,

       
  3. Jaime

    July 8, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    “you may hate me when it suddenly ends.”

    Well that’s putting it lightly! But really, I’m absolutely thrilled to see this released after such a wait. I will admit that I’m not a huge fan of the weekly release format, but I’m so thrilled to get this I don’t mind it so. However, I will leave my purchase for the entire set because I prefer having the larger album as a whole (even though it makes no practical difference in the end). I just prefer it that way. But until then, I’ll be advertising this beautiful piece of work wherever, whenever and to whomever I can. The Steampunk Opera blew me out of the water, the Dieselpunk Opera exceeded all my expectations and based on the first act, the Atompunk Opera feels like it’s going to exactly the same but twofold!

     
    • paulms

      July 8, 2014 at 11:34 pm

      Oh bless you.

       
  4. oldriku

    July 8, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    Thank you Paul! Can you post the lyrics somewhere? English is not my native tongue and I have trouble following the story without the lyrics.

     
  5. Moira Darke

    July 8, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    Like a few other people, I’ll probably be waiting until the full album is released but, man, it’s absolutely gorgeous. Also, I got to listen to it last night – one of the advantages to living on the American west coast!

    You’ve definitely outdone yourself.

     
    • paulms

      July 8, 2014 at 11:35 pm

      I hereby declare you go straight to Elysium when you die for those kind words.

       
  6. Benjamin

    July 9, 2014 at 12:09 am

    I’ve been listening to this all day! I got it last night and listened to it a few times and today while working the songs started to really click. Loved it! Are there plans to go into more detail on the characters and their history? I’m kind of interested to know the lore of the Atompunk world and maybe some more information on the characters.

     
    • paulms

      July 9, 2014 at 12:22 am

      Yes, yes and yes.

       
      • Benjamin

        July 9, 2014 at 12:33 am

        Thank you! Again, really enjoying it so far. The Steampunk Opera will always remain one of my favorite music discoveries of all time. Everything you do is just really great.

         
  7. Dave Pounds

    July 9, 2014 at 1:21 am

    I really enjoyed the first act and can’t wait for the others to come soon. As to the format of the release, I really can’t say because I haven’t experienced the other. But it certainly does build up the hype. As with everyone else I’m thinking of waiting for the box set. But I’m not certain I may be able to hold myself from buying the track before it comes out. Great Job! I hope you keep up the good work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 941 other followers

